Progressive

Between the Buried and Me – one of my longtime favorite bands – has been at the cusp of progressive music since their first self-titled album. I still remember seeing them in concert with Dream Theater and Opeth. At the time, I knew little about them. Not being a musician I guess I still don’t know much about them. But I love whatever it is I’m hearing, chaotic as it is.

I like to think that I can fathom their musical patterns and follow the rhythms…I’m also a big fan of lying to myself on occasion.

Anyway, as a musically challenged but enthusiastic fan – for what it’s worth – I am excited for this new EP to tie up the first part of their Parallax duo (which I can’t get enough of), and punch the boundaries of music right on the nose.

*

Other bands that I’ve been keeping a close ear on recently include Gojira, Skyharbor and The Contortionist for their willingness to experiment.

I made this blog mainly for writing/religion (serious things) purposes, but on occasion I’ll share what I’m listening to for me to check back on later and remind myself how great my music is…cause, let’s be honest, I’m the only person who gets on this blog with anything approaching frequency.

2 thoughts on “Progressive

Leave a Reply

