Not fantasy, but will sure take your brain to other worlds

Look what I found today!

comprehensive list of all the poetry collections that have won the National Book Award since 1950. This is a rich resource of thought that I hope to one day get through in its entirety even if it takes me the rest of my life.

Poetry isn’t my first love, but every couple of months, my need for it is rekindled, and I set the novels aside to find joy in short collections of words I don’t usually understand. What’s got me so giddy about a confusing mire of abstraction? I can’t always explain it. Some poems don’t touch me at all; others hound my soul for days. Sometimes a line or couplet of words will hit me in a way that makes me feel like my life is not/can not be the same after.

And digging through pages of nonsense to my ears is worth finding one of those precious gems any day. In a later post I hope to have up  this week, I’ll attempt to explain a little more my thoughts about how poetry can affect us, so tune in. It’s been too long since my last post.

Screen shot 2013-12-09 at 3.52.26 PM

Leave a Reply

