10 Fantasy Books I’d Like To Read This Summer

I’m not sure how I’ll get to all of these this summer, but I can always hope, right? On this list are mostly newer fantasy novels primarily because I want to know what’s happening in the industry right now. What’s big? What are we talking about? What am I writing that’s being done right now? Hopefully that’s not a conclusion I close a book to. Hopefully I just enjoy the heck out of these.

18404312Alias Hook: This might be the newest book on the list, but I haven’t taken the time to verify that. I read the synopsis and that was all I needed. I don’t usually go in for the retelling of old stories gig, but there’s that to a degree in every book, and I’ve always thought Hook needed a second chance.

Words of Radiance: The only book on this list (and one of the only books period) that I’m reading for 11543195the soul purpose of finding out what happens next. There will be speed-reading if I want to get to any other summer goals, and I don’t feel too bad about that since Sanderson’s other novels have offered little more to me than enjoyable escapism. As great a storyteller as he is, there’s not much edifying here, so I won’t linger.

13569581Blood Song: I really have no idea about this book. The synopsis is curious, but enigmatic, and I’m prepared to drop it if the faith aspect gets too weird. The main character seems interesting, but this doesn’t look like anything new, which is part of why it drew me, oddly enough. I want to read a story that’s not tripping over itself to point out all the tropes it’s avoiding (ahem, Rothfuss). I just want to read a good epic fantasy with startling characters, and I hope this book provides.

The Thousand Names: I picked this up at a used book sale, so this is actually the only book here I Thousand Names.inddalready own. I considered myself lucky because I usually find nothing but Donaldson and Modesitt at these table sales (and Tolkien from old folks who have given up on magic). To be honest, I don’t know anything about this book other than the colonial-era setting, which was enough to demand a second look. I wonder if that’s about to become a trend as Steampunk begins to slide from favor.

18666047Half a King: Abercrombie writes a young adult novel. I’m still getting over the shock. I have to read this just to see of Joe can resist bloody cursing and bloodier murder. I’m impressed with his editor, and since I’m not planning on handing this off to my little brother, I have no reservations. Just eagerness.

The Lies of Locke Lamora: I’m not usually one to pick out a book based on name alone, but if the story127455 is half as good as the title, I think I’ll enjoy it. Thieves are a typical fantasy troupe (there’s one in my own book), but rarely is this “occupation” the main point of the story. So seeing as how Ocean’s Eleven is one of my favorite movies and Robin Hood is a pet hero of mine – all moral quandaries aside – I’ll be diving into this with high expectations.

17910124The Emperor’s Blades: My guess – this is a Grimdark, and I don’t know how far I’ll get, but I’m prepared to be pleasantly surprised. The more I read about this novel, the more it interests me. I just don’t want to read another Richard Morgan, so I’ll borrow this before I buy it.

The Goblin Emperor: I’ve been hearing a lot about this book. It’s been on some intriguing lists 17910048recently, and I’m relooking at it. At first glance, I had to suppress a yawn, but as more stellar reviews pop up I might just jump on the bandwagon. Yes, last time I did that it was for The Name Of the Wind, and that was a bust, but I like to make the same mistake at least twice just to make sure it’s really a mistake.

18667112The Copper Promise: A book with what looks like all the flavor of a good myth. I want adventure and dragons this summer, and I don’t expect to need to look further.

Leviathan Wakes: And there’s Daniel Abraham. I’m convinced he’s the best voice in fantasy right now.8855321 At least for those of us looking for interesting characters. His worlds and people are beautiful, fallen, and utterly poetic; and I can’t wait to see what he does with a sci-fi. Yes, I know about the duo-authorship, which honestly intrigues me even more.

If you think of more I should add, let me know and I’ll see what I can do about getting to them…

So much to read.

So little time.

Leave a Reply

